h1

Introducing Claude Debussy

April 29, 2011

So here comes my FAVORITE COMPOSER!! ❤

He is my most favorite composer in the world, of all times. Period. He is such an amazing guy! I am very looking forward to writing more about his incredible music.

So, before talking about his music, I felt it was important that you knew about his background first.

Here goes. He is certainly very modern in the history of classical music. 1862-1918 does not seem very modern to you? Well, in the story of classical music, it certainly is. We are talking about CLASSICS, after all. 🙂 He joined the impressionist movement, both musical and cultural. That is how his music feels very dreamy and doesn’t make sense all the time, but appealing to emotions. Imagine Claude Monet! (Ohh I’ve just realized that they have the same first name!! :D) Picture his paintings in your mind. Debussy is just like Monet, except he expressed it in music. Very cool, eh? I think so too. 🙂 And that is exactly why I love him.

It is hard to touch the sphere of human mind. It is equally hard, if not harder, to express it, whether it be art, music, or literature. Simply put it this way: human mind is too complicated, yet simple, and is very ILLOGICAL. Do we always feel what we think? The answer is an absolute no. Do we think what we feel? Also, a no.

Debussy, however, being an excellent composer, and philosopher (to me, personally), does a great job of doing that. There is logic in his music, definitely. And then, it starts to ramble. But it is not an ugly chaos. It is a beautiful one, because it conveys the deep emotions and unconsciousness of human mind. Got confused while listening to his music? Listen to it one more time. Relax. It’s nothing hard. It is your own emotion. There is no denying. It evokes your emotions. It calls something deep within your soul. You will get it when you listen relaxedly; don’t think too complicated. After all, human mind is not a complication. It’s rather simple, I would say.

He is such a beautiful painter of music. And of human mind. He is such a beautiful poet of music. And of human mind. He is such a beautiful composer of music. And yet, he is not a composer of human mind.

He expresses what he sees in human mind. But he does not create what is in it. He merely inspects it and crafts it. Isn’t that so beautiful? That is one thing that really catches me. And exactly why I love music.

Ok, so I’m done talking for this post, I think. With the next post, I will get one of his pieces and explain that more in depth, in Debussian point of view. Thanks! 🙂

Picture citation: http://www.8notes.com/wiki/images/ClaudeDebussyC.jpg

2 comments

  1. Seungah,

    I really like the comparison you made between Monet’s art and Debussy’s music; cool!
    Mr. Bray


    • Thank you Mr. Bray!! 🙂 But I’m not Seungah. I’m Eunice. haha



Leave a comment